Two Patchy Debuts.

Hello Lovely Readers, hope you are happy and well??? We are a house of illness this weekend with only LJ not ill. Luckily we had a snow day yesterday so we have plenty of time for recovery before Monday.

Look at my garden this morning…

DSCF3114

And the snow is still falling! This time last year some parts of the UK were a lovely 20 degrees. Come on Spring… where are you???

Do you remember the date I had with my sewing machine a few weeks back? Well here is a little something I created that day. There is something else which is following in another post. Now I have to confess to having a bit of inspiration from Noelle (thanks Noelle!) with this. If you click on that link it will take you to her excellent tutorial about using fabric circles. I have been meaning to have a go at this for soooo long.

This is the first time I have made a little zippy pouch/purse and it was partly driven by need. The zip on my own purse (or wallet if you are in the USA) had broken and all the coins kept falling out into the bottom of my bag. Not fun when you are madly trying to find your bus fare! BJ had done some sewing in school before Christmas (which I helped with) and had made me a beautiful felt purse which I was very proud of and used for a few months instead. Here it is…

DSCF3120

DSCF3122

They tested different stitches to decide which one would be the strongest/most decorative to use for their purse and then designed and made their own. I am very impressed with his work. Due to his Dyspraxia he really struggles with fine motor skills and sewing so neatly must have taken real effort from him. It is decorated with glued on felt hearts which soon started to fall off so I decided to make myself something else before his wonderful work was truly ruined. That would have been too sad. Instead I shall find another use for it at home.

So here is my purse…

DSCF3102

The purse is not bad, but far from perfect. I was following another tutorial for the construction of the purse and didn’t read it all the way through before starting and consequently constructed it wrongly but you can only tell on the inside so its fine for me to use. I think there maybe more of these to follow so I will get plenty of opportunity to perfect my technique. The zip was ok but again I think I could perfect my technique. Rainbow Junkie if you look closely you will see one of the buttons which you sent to me when I won this 😀
DSCF3106You can see the lining on this picture – pale blue with big white spots. I have been using it for a little while now and yesterday I had my first compliment from a stranger in a shop. I went to the local post office to post some parcels and the lady that runs it commented on my purse. I was very pleased as she also sells lots of pretty, hand crafted gifty things in her shop…. perhaps one day…. who knows???

21 thoughts on “Two Patchy Debuts.

  1. Been thinking about the peole with lots of snow. Only had rain here so far this week.
    Lovely purse, and yes I see the button from the Monthly Challenge prize. I can see why the lady in the shop complemented you. 🙂

  2. I love the purse, and the circles are a great idea – so simple yet so effective. Like the best ideas 🙂 That’s a lot of snow you’re getting, guess you’re getting your money’s worth out of your moonboots !

  3. I’m super jealous of your snow. We live in the mountains where it’s supposed to look like your picture but we got a measly skiff last night.
    Let’s be clear here, I’m ready for spring but if it’s gonna snow… it may as well be measurable.
    I love your purse, glad you like circles too!
    Thanks for the link! 🙂

    • You’re welcome, credit where it’s due and all that. I think I might do some more circley things soon. Oh the snow is definitely measurable, it was almost a foot deep on top of the table but its been windy so there are some fantastic drifts which are deeper and we have a heap on the other side of the front door which looks like a cartoon when you open the door!!

  4. Great purses! So you have another little crafter in your family 🙂 I was supposed to have gone away on holiday camping yesterday. Although it looks beautiful, I’m pleased we decided to stay at home. I hope you all get well soon 🙂 Avis x

  5. You’ve had proper snow again, I bet the teachers are ecstatic with all the snow days this year!

    Like the running stitch wavy line across the purse, it’s great. I’m pinning it on my ‘I want one please’ board. 😉

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.