Channelling My Inner Dory. (Yarning Along 26)

School is back. It’s even more crazy than normal. Hence I skipped September’s Yarn Along and the Finding Nemo reference. One of my favourite mantras -“just keep swimming, swimming, swimming”.

I did just find a half written, unpublished September Yarn Along post… and it had a really good title too! Doh!

This is going to be quick though so here are August’s books…

The Authenticity Project – Clare Pooley

The Undesired – Yrsa Sigurdardottir

City of Girls – Elizabeth Gilbert

After my last post I decided that, to support my role as “Reading Champion”, I should start reading some appropriate children’s books in order to encourage book chat and recommendations with the classes I work in. I plan to be seen reading at school too. I can’t remember the last time our school bought new books for the library so I decided I would focus on new children’s fiction too. Which meant a trip to our local indie book shop… Yay!!! Here’s September’s books…

What Not To Do If You Turn Invisible – Ross Welford – funny with some cringeworthy predicaments at times – about finding out who you really are.

After The War – Tom Palmer – based on the true story of children brought to the Lake District after being liberated from concentration camps at the end of WW1.

The Strangeworlds Travel Agency – L.D. Lapinski – I LOVED the concept this book is based around… I’ll never see suitcases in the same way again.

Skellig – David Almond (not new, but our current whole class book) – an awesome classic. From the point of view of 12 year old Micheal, whose family is going through a troubling time. Hopeful… and a little bit mythical maybe??

The Good Thieves – Katherine Rundell – I loved the strong and determined female protagonist in this book. She’s tenacious, fierce and clever… but not perfect – she has her own issues to deal with.

The Wizards of Once – Cressida Cowell – This is my current book. (Also not new but one of LJ’s. It’s quite handy having children only slightly older than the year group you work in.) Slightly dark but funny and exciting too. It jumps straight into the action and keeps up the pace. I’m about halfway through.

On to the other type of yarn – This has totally stalled. Since returning to work I have not touched a hook or a needle. I did make a few face coverings just as term started and have made chutney and jam… but that’s not yarn!! If I am tired and feeling unsettled I look at the knitting and crochet (I want to do it and think about doing it) but just can’t face actually picking it up and doing it. Which makes no sense because it would probably calm and soothe me if I did. I’m just contrary!!

Does any one else feel like that… or is it just me??

Joining in with Ginny’s Yarn Along.

8 thoughts on “Channelling My Inner Dory. (Yarning Along 26)

  1. I certainly turn to yarn and the spoken word – I find it immensely relaxing and comforting. Podcasts or audio books work a treat. But immersing yourself in a book works too. Whatever helps you get through these challenging times.

  2. You have to be in the right mood for crafting or you end up with a dog’s dinner- mindless granny squares help in these moments and getting lost in a good book.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.