Big J’s Blanket…. finally complete.

Well this one as been a loooonnnggg time in the making. But to be fair it is pretty big…. bigger than me. I am super excited to be finished it. Partly because it has been looming over me, partly because I LOVE finishing anything yarny, partly because it is wonderful to see how pleased Big J is with it, but also because I am quite pleased with how it has turned out.

All the way along I have had doubts about it…. is it the right pattern choice… are the colours too loud. It has been out of my comfort zone but I guess when you make things to order this is what happens. It is not to my taste, not my choice of colours. But after all that I am still quite pleased with it. And lets remember that it is whether Big J is pleased that matters most.

The yarn for this blanket was ordered way back in Feb 2014 and it was actually begun in begun March 2014. It’s very first picture on the blog is here but there is more information about it’s beginnings here. There was also an update of it’s progress here. I can’t remember how many balls of yarn I started with, there is a bit left though.

Pattern: Interlocking Ripple by Lucy of Attic 24

Edge Pattern: Attic 24 Ripple Edging

Yarn: Stylecraft Special DK

Colours: Lipstick, Royal, Silver, Grey, Aster, Turquoise

Size: Approx. 175cm by 125cm

There were many, many other projects in between rippling, like the Collaborative Crochet Blanket, the Peter Rabbit Blanket plus many smaller projects like grannie hotties, bunting, sock knitting, flowers, and gingerbread men. This did slow it’s progress down considerably but it was also necessary because I do get quite bored with a big, repetitive blanket project.

On the evening that I finished it he was already in bed asleep so I tiptoed in and put it on the bed beside him. I didn’t cover him with it in case he got too hot. He did stir in his sleep and turn over and start cuddling it. When I woke him up in the morning he was lying on it and cuddling it like a teddy bear and his first words were “it’s so soft”. I think he is pleased.

9 thoughts on “Big J’s Blanket…. finally complete.

Leave a Reply

