A Catch Up and Cake.

Well I had another blog post half written the weekend after I posted the last one…. but it was another busy weekend and it never got finished not surprisingly. So I’m here to give you a quick catch up but I’ll do it with pictures so things don’t get too wordy.

 

I have to confess to not touching my crochet hook very much at all recently. I have been struggling with tiredness after being diagnosed anaemic recently (and other bizarre symptoms… who would have thought a lack of iron would make you unable to sleep at night, even though you are exhausted??!!). I’m on the iron tablets though and I’m packing as much iron as I can into my meals and I think it’s starting to work. This week has been better.

Ok, time for the cake… There are always a couple of stalls at school for the 10k… bacon and sausage butties, tea, coffee and cake. So I made this favourite and took it over, then Big J went over with some money and bought a piece of it back again!!! I guess I should be glad he likes my cooking best!!!

Chocolate and Vanilla Marble Cake

150g/5oz butter

150g/50z sugar

175g/6oz self raising flour

3 eggs

50ml warm milk

3 level tablespoons cocoa powder

  • Mix together softened butter, sugar, flour eggs and milk in a large bowl. Whisk with an electric whisk on medium for 1 minute.
  • Divide the mixture evenly between two bowls and stir the cocoa powder into one bowl
  • You can either use the mixture for muffins or a tray bake so grease and line the appropriate tin.
  • For muffins, put a teaspoon of each mixture into each case then stir with the end of the teaspoon to create the marbling.
  • For a tray bake, dot the tray with spoons of one mixture, then fill in the gaps with spoons of the other mixture and stir to create the marbling.
  • Bake for approx 25 mins at 180c
  • Decorate with vanilla buttercream and crushed Malteasers, whole Minstrels, chocolate curls or whatever you fancy.

This recipe was originally from the Tesco Real Food website. I really wanted a photo of a cut piece so you could see the patterns inside but as it was for the 10k I couldn’t… you’ll just have to imagine it… or make it so you can see it. The boys were watching the final of Bake off this morning when I got up and decided they wanted to do some baking and have chosen this recipe, so I guess I know what we are doing this afternoon now! Happy cake-eating everyone!

Edited to add:- Quick pic of the boys making their version and finished results. It was excellent collaboration, all I had to do was read out the instructions and put them in the oven. 

Think theirs are better than mine!! What do you think???

11 thoughts on “A Catch Up and Cake.

  1. Lovely pictures. I must say I like your fireplace! So sorry to hear about the anemia. I’ve been there before. Not fun. Glad to hear things are getting better, and I hope you completely recover quickly!

  2. I just had low iron stores a while ago and as well as getting breathless too easily, I had a few strange symptoms that I only realised were connected when I read stuff on the internet. I love cake too!

    • The symptoms are very odd. My stores are low as well as being anaemic. The nurse said I will be on the tablets for at least six months… Fortunately I don’t seem to be having any nasty side effects from them!! I reckon it’s an excellent excuse to indulge in more cake to cheer me up! 😉

  3. Hi, sorry you haven’t been feeling to well, hope the iron is working nicely! Cake looks delish!! Take care J xxx

Leave a Reply

