Homemade Lemon Curd

Big J has had a passion for Lemon Curd recently and then two things happened. Firstly we finished the jar of supermarket bought Lemon Curd. Secondly I watched the Big Allotment Challenge on BBC2. It was the episode where they had to make a curd as one of their challenges. And they made some delicious sounding ones….. Rhubarb and Custard Curd….. Blueberry Curd…… (oh the colour!!!). Then I remembered making Lemon Curd with Grandma P when I was a kid. So I hunted out the recipe and decided to have a go with Big J.

The recipe was in the notebook that I use to collect favourite recipes, but I think it came from a manual which we got with a new microwave oven years ago… it might even have been our first microwave. Apparently it’s quite easy to make preserves in The Beast so I will have to try it sooner or later, but because it’s not something I am very used to I decided to stick to the recipe this time and use the microwave.

Big J and Little J helped, both of them keen to squeeze lemons, crack eggs and stir the mixture. It took us maybe half an hour to make two lovely yellow jars of Lemon Curd. It won’t keep for months and months like other jams and chutneys but will keep for a few weeks in the fridge and it is very yummy. It is delicious on hot buttered toast or freshly baked scones. It’s also gorgeous in a Victoria Sponge instead of raspberry jam.

Here’s the recipe if you would like to try it…

Microwave Lemon Curd

4 lemons – zest and juice of

1lb caster sugar

4 eggs

4oz butter

Mix all the ingredients together in a microwavable bowl.

Microwave on high power for 1 minute.

Then microwave in 30 second bursts, stirring between, until the mixture is thickened.

I filled two normal sized jam jars from it. The recipe can be halved if required.

 

Now I think I might need to go and bake a loaf of the Life-Changing Bread to go with it. I’m also quite keen to try some other curd recipes and I have just found the winning curd recipe from the Big Allotment Challenge online right here. Ooohhh nom!!!!

11 thoughts on “Homemade Lemon Curd

  1. I’ve ever tried making it. mainly because I’m very well behaved if theres a jar in the house, as long as I don’t open it – once it’s open I’ll just sit and eat it with a spoon. I have this fear that if I tried making it it just wouldnt get as far as the jar…

    • Tee hee! That is what Big J would do if I let him (and probably me too if Grandma P had ever let me. Definitely used to eat the green tomato chutney out of the jar with a spoon!!!). There is a recipe for The Beast to actually make it IN the jar!!! Never tried it though.

  2. I adore home made lemon curd. It reminds me of my lovely Granny who always made her own and then filled the lightest most yummy Victoria sandwich cakes with it. Am suffering lemon curd envy.

  3. Pingback: Angel food cake with lemon curd | Andrews' Family Cookery & Household Management

Leave a Reply

