Spiced Tomato and Couscous Soup.

Hello Dear Friends, how’s the weather where you are?? Here it has become decidedly autumnal. One or two of the trees on the way down the hill have started turning red and orange, it’s been windy and showery and my heating switched itself on this morning so it must be colder too. My Patchy Blanket is getting quite a bit of use in the living room – even by Mr P, so it won’t be long before we are lighting the fire in the evenings. Time for some warming comfort food I think.

This is one of my favourite soup recipes – I think it’s the Harissa Paste. It gives it a spicy and warming kick and I think I might be a bit addicted to it. Chick peas and couscous are also two of my favourite ingredients. The recipe can be found here. I sometimes add chopped fresh coriander at the end instead of parsley and I quite often double the recipe because it doesn’t last long round here. It’s tasty, warming and simple to make – perfect for autumn and winter.

Enjoy!

10 thoughts on “Spiced Tomato and Couscous Soup.

  1. Recipe looks really great. We eat a lot of chick peas around here, so it’s always nice to find a new way to use them – but I prefer to buy them in packs, as opposed to tins, and then just pre-soak as many as I need at a time. And sometimes, of course, I let them sprout….

    • I think they are cheaper dried…. But I’m never organised enough to remember to soak them! Easier for me to have a couple of tins in the cupboard. They are very good sprouted though… Something else I don’t do often enough!

    • Have been off soups all summer but getting right back into them now. Just made a new curry recipe from GF site tonight, going to test it out when rice is cooked but it smells good.

  2. Pingback: (Almost) Sunday Sevens #3 | madebypatch

Leave a Reply

