Sunshine food… in the rain!

Hello Everyone, how are you all today?? I though I would post about food today as I’m not getting much crafting done. I have done a bit of sewing but nothing I haven’t posted about before really – more patchy bags although with a new design, might show you soon. No crochet though. I have the urge to read at the moment instead! However I seem to be cultivating a NEED for bunting. 

I think this might be why. This is the view past the plants, from the kitchen window (in the rain today). Bunting is popping up all over the country in order to celebrate the Jubilee. Red, white and blue of course, or Union Jacks.  Might have to make some, but it won’t be red, whit and blue or Union Jacks. I don’t have the necessary supplies to sew some straight away (this is often the story of my sewing life!!) so that might have to wait until later. But I do have crochet supplies so…

With all the wonderful warm weather we have been having here the menu has had to change to more summery fare. Thought I would post about a recent adaptation I made to an old summer favourite, so the sun went in and it has rained all day so far!!!!! I haven’t mentioned it before but I have been trying to lose some weight. I decided to start last september and joined my local Slimming World group. Its a very simple healthy eating plan where you can eat as much as you like of fresh fruit and veg, pasta potatoes, rice and lean meat etc. I really couldn’t see how it was going to work at first but it has worked. Since September I have lost 3 stone 6lbs and dropped two dress sizes – yay! Obviously pastry (and products made from flour in general) is a bit of a problem with weight-loss so I have been hunting for a way to make a yummy quiche without the pastry and without it becoming frittata/tortilla. The solution was presented to me a while ago when Mr P and I had our lunch out one day. I had quiche with potato crust and it was yummy. So I had a quick read around the web and decided to have a go. I made it again yesterday and here are my pictures.

I peeled and cooked 4 medium potatoes then mashed them with a dash of milk. Then I piled them into my greased flan dish and pressed and smoothed them down with the back of a spoon. I used the cooking spray in the picture to grease the dish and sprayed it over the potatoes to help it brown a little. Then it went into the Beast for about 20 minutes and came out looking like this…

Slightly golden and more yummy looking. Then I made my filling from mushrooms, thyme, cheese, eggs, and a splash of milk. So it looked like this…

Then it went back into the Beast for another 20 minutes or so until it was set and golden…

It was yummy! There is none left of course. Big J had to ask for a second helping. The edge was lovely and crispy. So there you go, a healthier quiche. And the good news is I lost another pound and a half this week 😀

I wonder if I make a winter stew if the sun will come out again??? Its lasagne tonight, maybe that will do it. Hope the sun is shining on you.

18 thoughts on “Sunshine food… in the rain!

  1. Wow that looks delicious! Great to see an old Be-Ro flour recipe book in the picture too….I still use their baking booklet…it has the BEST mince pie recipe ever!!

  2. Well done on your weight loss and very inventive idea for the quiche. I have given up eating potatoes but otherwise I would try it.

  3. Hi 😉 I’m fine thank you and hope you are too 🙂 What a fab view you have – kind of olde worlde 😉
    Well done on the AMAzing weuight loss 😀 WooHoo! I too have been on SW for over a year now, exCEPt I haven’t stuck to plan since Christmas 😦 I lost a about the same as you but have since put back on about 3kilos. Not a lot I know, but also too much if you know what I mean – besides I can feel it in my jeans that I’d just got down to. Just can’t get back in the groove of it 😦 Difficult on ones own with no group nearby….but…..thanks for the GR8 recipe 🙂 I used mash for a ‘pizza’ base but didn’t think about quiche…. hmm…..Anyhoo, best of luck on your journey 🙂
    Mo x

    • Hi Mo. Lol! It is sort of olde worlde in the village. I know what you mean, I have lost my motivation a bit too because I have already made a difference so don’t feel so big any more. But I’m determined not to give up.
      Ooooooo pizza base, fantastic idea. Will give that a try too.

      • Just found the ‘pizza’ recipe:
        1 x bag of SMASH (apparently the cheaper the make the better)
        Tomato puree
        Any cheese(s) from health extras, grated
        Oregano, basil, chives or other herbs
        Any toppings such as pepper, onion, mushroom, sweetcorn, ham/chicken

        Pre-heat the oven and put a tray in to warm up.
        Put SMASH into a bowl and slowly add water – make it as thick as possible…could always add some herbs to the base or some garlic.
        Take pizza tray out of oven and spray with fry-light.
        Using your hands spread SMASH out onto the pizza tray, but don’t press down too hard….try and get it around 4mm. Spray top with fry light too.
        Put in the oven for 7-10 minutes
        Take out of oven, turn SMASH base over and put back in over for 4 minutes, take out & brush with some beaten egg (this stops it absorbing tomato base) then return to oven for a further 3-7 minutes to crisp the other side.
        Remove from oven and leave to cool.
        Bung all other ingredients on and finish off under the grill until the cheese melts.
        Mo 😉

      • Oooooo thanks Mo. Now I know what to do with the Smash in the cupboard that’s been sitting there from our last camping trip.

  4. Your earlier experiment in this potato quiche was yummy, but this one looks much better – you are perfecting the technique…

  5. Great job with the weight lost! That quiche looks amazingly yummy.. may have to give it a go sometime! I have done one before where I have shredded potatoes and used that as the crust, comes out crunchy crispy. I love me some mushrooms, that’s for sure!

  6. Haven’t tried a potato based quiche! Looks good! Well done on the weight loss too! Yesterday we had sunshine here in Melbourne first time in awhile and we had quiche the day before;) never made a link to food and weather:)

  7. What a wonderful location you have – directly opposite a pub! That is superb news about the weight loss – congratulations! I gave up wheat (plus dairy, sugar and alcohol for a period of 4 years due to issues other than weight) and I wish I’d thought of using spuds as a pastry substitute – it looks delicious.

Leave a Reply

